Anastasia Tsioulcas http://kttz.org en Classical Quartet Gets All Twisted http://kttz.org/post/classical-quartet-gets-all-twisted <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKezUd_xw20</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 18:32:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 42768 at http://kttz.org Classical Quartet Gets All Twisted How Do You Sweep The Ivy League? Practice — The Viola. (Really.) http://kttz.org/post/how-do-you-sweep-ivy-league-practice-viola-really By now, you may have <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/04/01/297879597/new-york-student-is-accepted-to-all-8-ivy-league-schools" target="_blank">heard</a> about Kwasi Enin, the impressive young man from Long Island who has been accepted into the classes of 2018 at Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton, the University of Pennsylvania, Yale (all eight Ivy League universities) as well as Duke and three campuses of the State University of New York. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 15:14:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 41966 at http://kttz.org How Do You Sweep The Ivy League? Practice — The Viola. (Really.) Latitudes: International Music You Must Hear Now http://kttz.org/post/latitudes-international-music-you-must-hear-now-0 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fGcf3GODKE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cprez2G15LI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KFBKcl4CD0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zyRCkO1o6hY</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O8UVv1ludZ8</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 21:07:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 41787 at http://kttz.org Latitudes: International Music You Must Hear Now The Kronos Quartet: Still Daring After All These Years http://kttz.org/post/kronos-quartet-still-daring-after-all-these-years Kronos Quartet is celebrating 40 years of playing music together — and to mark the occasion, they're playing a celebration concert at Carnegie Hall in New York tomorrow night. Since their founding, the San Francisco-based string quartet has become one of the most visible ensembles in classical music. The players have done it by championing new and underheard music, and by coming up with a business model that was unheard of for a chamber group four decades ago.<p>Violinist David Harrington dreamed up the idea of a string quartet devoted primarily to contemporary music in 1973. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 07:00:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 41550 at http://kttz.org The Kronos Quartet: Still Daring After All These Years A Field Recording Bonus Track: The Silk Road Swings http://kttz.org/post/field-recording-bonus-track-silk-road-swings We had so much fun taping cellist Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble's <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/294345739/yo-yo-ma-and-the-silk-road-ensemble-horse-around-in-brooklyn" target="_blank">Field Recording</a>, we couldn't stop at just one selection, so we recorded the group's four talented percussionists in a deep groove.<p>They're playing a piece written by Shane Shanahan called <em>Saidi Swing</em>. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 41502 at http://kttz.org A Field Recording Bonus Track: The Silk Road Swings